You are here: Home|Ask us
FAQ PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 25 August 2010 13:46


The Organization of the North-Atlantic Treaty (NATO) is the alliance of 28 member-states of North America and Europe, devoted to fulfilling the goals of the North-Atlantic Treaty signed in Washington on 4th April 1949.

According to this treaty, the basic role of NATO is to safeguard the freedom, the common heritage and civilization values of their nations, based on the principles of democracy, individual freedom and the rule of law.

What is the basic principle for the functioning of NATO?

The basic principle for the functioning of NATO is the consensus. This means that the decisions must be adopted unanimously. All the member-states must agree on the measures that need to be undertaken or regarding the issues that are to be adopted. This principle is strictly applied.

What are the main bodies of NATO?

The main bodies of NATO are:

-       Secretary General elected once in four years. The current Secretary General is Anders Fogh Rasmussen.

-       The North-Atlantic Council that has permanent representatives of each member state that meets once a week and adopts decisions.

What are the conditions for NATO membership? Which countries can join?

Regarding the enlargement, NATO has an open door policy. All the European countries that adopt the principles of the Washington Treaty and can contribute to the security of the Euro-Atlantic region may become members of the Alliance upon the invitation issued by the North-Atlantic Council.

The countries that want to be part of NATO should fulfill certain political, economic and military goals in order to guarantee their contribution to the Alliance, and also, to have benefit of the membership.

What are the official languages of NATO?

The two official languages of NATO are English and French.

Where is the head-quarter of NATO?

NATO Head-quarters are in Brussels:

NATO Headquarters
Blvd. Leopold III
1110 Brussels, Belgium